2021 – 2022 Events Calendar

If you and your club would like to promote a round of the West Midlands Cyclo Cross League, please contact British Cycling Regional Events Officer, Richard Wickenden, 07714 136599 –


DateRound NumberPromoting ClubVenueVenue MapOrganiser
5th September 2021Round 1Stratford Cycling ClubHillcrest, Ullenhall Street, Ullenhall. B95 5PLMapPeter Graham
12th September 2021Round 2Stratford Cycling ClubHillcrest, Ullenhall Street, Ullenhall. B95 5PLMapPeter Graham
19th September 2021Round 3Redditch R&P Cycling ClubAbbey Stadium, Redditch. B97 6EJMapJohn Potts
26th September 2021Round 4Mid Shropshire WheelersShrewsbury Sports VillageMapDave Mellor
3rd October 2021Round 5Solihull Cycling ClubHeart of England Conference CentreMapGary Rowing – Parker
10th October 2021Round 6Halesowen C & ACBaggeridge Country ParkMapMatthew Harris
17th October 2021Round 7Worcester St Johns Cycling ClubUniversity of Worcester Lakeside CampusMapClinton Haywood
24th October 2021Round 8Newport Cycling ClubNewport Rugby Club, Newport. TF10 8BUMapHugh Jackson
31st October 2021Round 9Run and RideHereford Leisure CentreMapMatt Williams
7th November 2021Round 10Severn Valley Cyclo CrossHighley, Nr BridgnorthAndrew Davies
14th November 2021No Event
21st November 2021No Event
28th November 2021Round 11Regional ChampionshipLakeside CampusMapMark Leyland
5th December 2021Round 12Bridgnorth Cycling ClubHighley, Nr BridgnorthAndrew Davies
12th December 2021No Event
19th December 2021No Event
26th December 2021Non Counting EventBoxing Day Cross
2nd January 2022Round 13Pulse EventsLakeside CampusMapMark Leyland

Cyclo Cross in the West Midlands is booming due to great clubs and organisers that volunteer to run races for us. The challenge is that courses and infrastructure that were OK a few years ago are now being stretched.  We appreciate that this is a family sport and the attraction of the League for some is that the whole family can participate on the same day at the same venue. We have been getting races in excess of 180 riders and some courses cannot handle that amount of riders safely and so we limit the number of riders who can register for the League.  Race Organisers, WMCCL Committee and Commissaires will decide on race number limits of each race venue before close of online entry.

Non league registered riders are still welcome to enter via the British Cycling online entry system, subject to available space but will not be eligible for league points or prizes.

Entry, Sign On and Prize Guidelines

The 2021 – 2022 WMCCL supported by Shimano and Lazer is online entry in advance only. There is no entry on the day.

WMCC League registered riders get priority entry via the British Cycling online entry system and entries will close 1 week before race day.

Non league registered riders will get an opportunity to enter a week preceding race day closing date, if space allows.

At a riders first race day they will collect their timing transponder and their race number which they will keep for the season.

There will be no other on the day sign on procedure.

Numbers and timing transponders must be returned at the riders final race of the season.

Any rider taking part in a race without first having entered via the British Cycling online entry system will be suspended from the WMCCL and reported to British Cycling for further sanction.

There are no on the day prizes for categories above under 12. Each race organiser will contribute to an overall Shimano Lazer WMCCL prize fund for registered riders only.  Non registered riders are not eligible for overall league prizes. There are 13 events in the WMCCL and so your best 10 events will count for your overall league position.

Under 12 categories will have on the day podium medals for boys and girls at under 6, under 8, under 10 and under 12 whether they are registered with the league or not. Only WMCCL registered under 12 categories will be eligible for overall league awards.


Start TimeCategoryDistance
10:00Under 6 & Under 810 minutes
10:20Under 1010 minutes
10:45Under 1215 minutes
11:10 – 11:30Course Practice
11:30Youth u14 & u1630 minutes
12:15Vet 50+ Men40 minutes
13:05 – 13:35Course Practice
13:35Junior Women40 minutes
13:35Women40 minutes
14:30Junior Men50 minutes
14:30Senior Men50 minutes
14:30Vet 40+ Men50 minutes


Age Categories for the 2021 – 2022 Cyclo Cross Season

Under 6born in 2016 or later
Under 8born in 2015 or 2014
Under 10born in 2013 or 2012
Under 12born in 2011 or 2010
Under 14born in 2009 or 2008
Under 16born in 2007 or 2006
Juniorborn in 2005 or 2004
Under 23born 2000 to 2003
Seniorborn 2003 or earlier
Veteranborn 1981 or earlier
Veteran 40+born 1981 to 1977Veteran
Veteran 45+born 1976 to 1972Senior Veteran
Veteran 50+born 1971 to 1967Grand Veteran
Veteran 55+born 1966 to 1962Master Veteran
Veteran 60+born 1961 to 1957Grand Master Veteran
Veteran 65+born 1956 to 1952Super Veteran
Veteran 70+born 1951 – 1947Super Plus Veteran
Veteran 75+born 1946 or earlier

Races for Women are open to Junior, Under 23, Senior and Veteran Women

Code of conduct for spectators and families

We all have a responsibility to promote high standards of behaviour and ensure the Shimano Lazer WMCCL is an enjoyable, safe and positive environment.

Events in the League are voluntarily organised to develop riders’ technical, physical, tactical and social skills. Winning isn’t everything!

Please play your part and observe our Code of Conduct at all times by agreeing to:

  • Encourage and applaud effort as well as success
  • Respect the organisers’ commissaires’ and committee’s decisions
  • Stay off the course during each race
  • Avoid criticism of a rider for any mistakes or errors
  • Never engage in, or tolerate, offensive, insulting or abusive behaviour or language

One Bike ‘Cross

Islabikes and the West Midlands Cyclo Cross League (WMCCL) are excited to announce the introduction of One Bike ‘Cross. A subcategory within the league for those riding just one bike during races. It goes without saying that all under 12 races are, according to the rules of British Cycling, in the One Bike category and so there are not two awards for under 12 categories.