Barnes and Harnden triumph again in WMCCL R4

BROTHERS Toby and Daniel Barnes took a one-two in the men’s race in the fourth round of the West Midlands Cyclo-Cross League at Shrewsbury Sports Village while junior Harriet Harnden won the women’s event.

Toby Barnes on his way to a third league win. Pictures by David Perry

Many cyclo-cross riders will be familiar with the National Trophy round course in Shrewsbury.

However, organising club Mid Shropshire Wheelers ran the event in the opposite direction and changed some sections which made for a technically demanding course in dry conditions.

After winning three of the opening four rounds Lichfield City CC rider Toby Barnes led from the second lap and pulled out a winning margin of over a minute.

After the opening lap Toby was joined by younger brother Daniel Barnes (Lichfield City CC) and last year’s National Youth Champion Simon Wyllie (Halesowen A&CC).

The older Barnes brother eventually gapped his two junior companions and road away for victory.

In the third round Wyllie got the better of Daniel Barnes but on this occasion the pair matched each other before Barnes forced a gap with three laps to go and hung on for second place.

David Hird (Halesowen A&CC) came home third junior in sixth place overall.

In his first appearance of the season in the West Midlands Cyclo-Cross League Ed Moseley (Malvern Cycle Sport) showed his technical ability to take victory in the veteran’s over-40 category.

Ed Moseley won the veteran’s event

However, it was regular winner Darren Akins (Zannata Ride Coventry X Gear) who led away from the line as Moseley had to work his way to the front.

Moseley traded blows throughout the race with Atkins with little to separate them through the middle of the race.

However, on the last lap Moseley powered clear to victory with Atkins coming home second and Philip Glaze (Stourbridge CC) in third.

Like the men’s event the women’s event also showcased the talent coming through the West Midlands scene with the top three spots all taken by junior riders.

National Junior Mountain Bike Cross Country Champion Harnden won the opening round but was beaten into second last weekend.

Harriet Harnden on her way to winning the women’s event

On this occasion the junior rider took a convincing victory and led from start to finish and pulling out a margin of over one and a half minutes.

Behind fellow juniors Josie Nelson (Lichfield City CC) and Lucy Hart (Mid Shropshire Whls) battled for second with Nelson pulling out a large advantage on the opening two laps and seeing that dwindle to 16 seconds by the finish.

In the veteran’s category local rider Karren Summers, from Telford, took another victory but was pushed all the way by Isla Rowntree (Islabikes) with just a handful of seconds between the pair throughout the race.

Taking third place in the veteran category was Amanda Whitehouse (Stourbridge CC).

Stephen Knight (Team Jewson-MI Racing Polypipe) continued his domination of the veteran over-50s category taking another comfortable victory.

On this occasion the race behind for second was led by Chris Wreghitt (Second Wind) who despite seeing his gap shrink mid-race come through strongly to lead the pack home.

Glen Coltman (Leicestershire Road Club) worked his way through the field after a slower start to take third.

The youth boy’s race once again had the most exciting finish when as a repeat of the previous round Kieran Riley (Langdale Lightweights) and Ben Askey (RST/Cycle Division Racing Team) matched each other lap for lap.

The finish of the boy’s youth event

In a repeat of last week’s sprint finish it was once again Riley who took another victory

Behind there was another sprint for third overall as under-14 Max Greensill closed a minute gap from the start on Jack Fothergill (Solihull CC) and Samuel Holwill (Hafren CC).

After closing the gap on the last lap Greensill was narrowly beaten by Fothergill but clearly first under-14 while Holwill finished fifth overall.

Three minutes behind Greensill it was Raph Tabiner who finished second under-14 while Luke Harris (RST/Cycle Division Racing Team) finished third.

Like the boys race the youth girls event was just as dramatic with Anna Wadsworth (Beeline Cycles), Grace Lister (Wolverhampton Whls) and Isla Mason (Team Empella matching each other wheel for wheel during the 36 minutes race.

It was Wadsworth who sprinted to victory ahead of Lister in second and Mason taking third.

In the girl’s under-14 event Ellie Swingell (Halesowen A&CC) took an emphatic win from Stephanie Kingston (Lichfield City CC) in second and Rebecca Woodvine (Mid Shropshire Whls) in third.